So close yet so far

Sorry I haven’t written in a while, finals took over my life for the last 3 weeks.

Today I received notice that I wasn’t granted interview for one of the Canadian med schools I applied for. What really kills me is that I was so close. They give you a score of how you did and also provide us with the “cut off” for interview invite. I was less than one point away.

A word for advice for all the hard-working premeds out there just starting university. Please be very wary of your marks. That’s where I fell short, my first year was a bit of a disaster because I got cocky from being “smart” in high school.

I was really disappointed when I read the email. Sometimes it feels like medical school asks too much of its applicants, but of course I just sound like a bitter old woman when I say that – since I got rejected pre-interview. But even if I were to get in to a school, I would still always feel that the system is flawed. There’s so much more value in a student who has done more with his/her life than study; we shouldn’t expect our future doctors to be super human, no one (or 99% of the population) can be involved in what they’re passionate about, AND get 4.0’s. If I had to choose one thing that I want in someone who’s saving my life. I’d rather passion and problem solving skills than the ability to get 100% on tests.

But don’t worry, I’ll never give up! There’s still other med schools that haven’t gotten back to me yet, maybe I’ll still get an interview. Or even if not, I’ll continue to apply next year, just gotta find a back up plan first! 🙂

I’ll post more non-ranty posts soon. I have a little bit more time since it’s the holidays! Cheers!

Leave a comment